FIRST Award for Responsible Capitalism 2006

29th November 2006

The Princess Royal presented the award to Mr Tata at a special ceremony at Marlborough House, London, attended by over 250 prominent business leaders, Parliamentarians and Ambassadors.

Mr Tata becomes the eighth head of an international corporation to receive the award. The previous winners have been Lord Browne of Madingley, Group Chief Executive of BP (2000), Marilyn Carlson Nelson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Carlson Companies (2001), Sir Robert Wilson KCMG, Executive Chairman of Rio Tinto (2002) and now Chairman of the BG Group, Dr Daniel Vasella, Chairman and CEO of Novartis AG (2003), Mr Morris Tabaksblat KBE, Chairman of Reid Elsevier and Mr Jaime Zobel de Ayala, Chairman of Ayala Corporation (joint winners 2004), and Mr Alan Wood CBE, Chief Executive of Siemens plc (2005).

When making the Award, the Judges are looking for a business leader who has consistently demonstrated social responsibility as an integral part of commercial success, examining in particular the manner in which their businesses interact both with the environment and the social communities in which they operate.

In making the Award to Mr Tata, Lord Woolf, Chairman of The Judging Panel, said ‘Mr Ratan Tata has demonstrated how it is possible to combine being an extremely successful leader of highly innovative companies with social responsibility and concern for the environment and the well-being of the local communities in which those companies operate around the globe. He receives the award at a particularly appropriate moment in the relations between this country and India.

The Judging Panel is chaired by the Rt Hon Lord Woolf, former Lord Chief Justice, and includes Lord Dahrendorf KBE, Chief Emeka Anyaoku GVCO TC CFR, Lord Browne of Madingley, Marilyn Carlson Nelson, Rt Hon Lord Howe of Aberavon CH QC, Lord Plant of Highfield, Hon Philip Lader, Sir Robert Wilson KCMG, Dr Daniel Vasella, Sir Patrick Cormack FSA MP, Lord Marshall of Knightsbridge and Morris Tabaksblat, KBE.

About the Award
The Award for Responsible Capitalism was initiated by First in 2000 to honour business leaders who have excelled by achieving both commercial success and demonstrating social responsibility. Rupert Goodman, Chairman of FIRST said ‘We at FIRST believe that commercial success can be assessed in terms of standard criteria, but that social responsibility involves a greater sense of the needs of the wider community as well as shareholders, a special interest in the well-being of groups in need, care for the areas in which the business operates, environmental initiatives, and support for the arts and culture’.

FIRST is a multidisciplinary International Affairs organisation.

Founded in 1984 it aims to enhance communications between leaders in industry, finance and government, worldwide and promote strategic dialogue. This is achieved via three key channels; publishing, events and awards.

The recipient of a PPA Award for Publishing Excellence, FIRST Magazine is read by the world’s leadership community and comprises interviews conducted with government and business leaders focusing on long term strategic issues. In addition, a comprehensive range of sectoral and regional reports and text books are produced often in co-operation with governments and leading organisations. Specialist sector specific publications include World Petroleum and Global Energy.

FIRST organises and manages a range of high level meetings and special events for governments and corporations, ranging from conferences through round table gatherings to individual meetings between business and government leaders. Attendees include the chairmen and CEOs of some of the world’s major companies, leading academics and government ministers.

In 2000 FIRST instituted the International Award for Responsible Capitalism to honour business leaders who have excelled in both commercial success and social responsibility. The adjudicating panel is chaired by Lord Woolf and includes Lord Dahrendorf KBE, Rt. Hon. Lord Howe of Aberavon CH QC, Hon. Philip Lader, Lord Plant of Highfield, Chief Emeka Anyoaku GCVO, Lord Browne of Madingley (Group Chief Executive of BP), Sir Patrick Cormack FSA MP, Marilyn Carlson Nelson (Chair of the Carlson Group), Sir Robert Wilson KCMG (Chairman of BG), and Dr Daniel Vasella (Chief Executive of Novartis) and Morris Tabaksblat KBE.

For more information please contact:

Rupert Goodman, Chairman of FIRST
Tel: 020 7389 9640
Fax: 020 7389 9644
Mob: 07899 900156