FIRST Award for Responsible Capitalism 2010

23rd November 2010

The Business Secretary presented the FIRST Responsible Capitalism awards at a special ceremony at Marlborough House, London, attended by over 250 prominent business leaders, Parliamentarians and Ambassadors. On presenting the Awards the Business Secretary commented “I
am delighted to present FIRST’s Responsible Capitalism Awards this year. I sincerely believe that the interests of profit and corporate responsibility are in no way opposed and the excellent companies here tonight are evidence of that. These are businesses which take a long-term view, show strong leadership and good management
particularly in difficult times, invest in their staff and display ethical behaviour. This is exactly what we need as we seek to rebalance our economy and support sustainable growth over the long term.”

Charlie Mayfield becomes the twelfth head of an international organisation to receive the award. The previous winners have been Lord Browne of Madingley, Group Chief Executive of BP (2000), Marilyn Carlson Nelson, Chair and Chief Executive Officer of Carlson Companies (2001), Sir Robert Wilson KCMG, Executive Chairman of Rio Tinto
(2002) and now Chairman of the BG Group, Dr Daniel Vasella, Chairman and CEO of Novartis AG (2003), Mr Morris Tabaksblat KBE, former Chairman of Reid Elsevier and Mr Jaime Zobel de Ayala, Chairman of Ayala Corporation (joint winners 2004), Mr Alan Wood CBE, Chief Executive of Siemens plc (2005), Mr Rata Tata, Chairman of Tata Group (2006), Howard Schultz, Chief Executive of Starbucks Corporation
(2007), Dr Mo Ibrahim, founder of Celtel International (2008) and Andrew Witty, Chief Executive Officer of GlaxoSmithKline (2009).

When making the Award, the Judges are looking for a business leader who has consistently demonstrated social responsibility as an integral part of commercial success, examining in particular the manner in which their businesses interact both with the environment and the
social communities in which they operate.

In making the Award to Charlie Mayfield, Lord Woolf, Chairman of The FIRST Judging Panel said “Charlie
Mayfield has, through sensitive and positive leadership of The John Lewis Partnership, demonstrated what can be achieved by sharing the rewards and responsibility of ownership and conducting business with

Mrs Indra Nooyi receives the International Award for Responsible Capitalism, having established a new vision of social responsibility and environmental sensitivity for PepsiCo in the many countries where the company is involved.

The Special Dahrendorf Award for Social Enterprise was made to Sophi Tranchell MBE for creating a very successful and pioneering company co-owned by cocoa farmers in West Africa.

On receiving the Award for Responsible Capitalism, Charlie Mayfield said, “I’m delighted that the John Lewis Partnership is considered as progressive a business today as it was when our founder took the radical move to hand ownership to the employees 80 years ago. It is our 70,000 Partners who deserve this award – it is their
commitment, teamwork and leadership that have made our success possible, and they who are a testament to the strength and endurance of our business model.”

On receiving the International Award for Responsible Capitalism, Indra Nooyi said, “Like FIRST, we at PepsiCo believe that shareholder value and good corporate citizenship can no longer be separate. They are intertwined. In the 21st Century, to be a great organization means having world-class capabilities; but it also means having world-class character. It means recognizing that we have a responsibility to shareholders; but we also have a wider purpose to be good stewards of the planet and good partners in all the communities where we do business.”

On receiving the Special Dahrendorf Award Sophi Tranchell said, “I am extremely honoured to have been selected for this inaugural Dahrendorf Award for leadership in Social Enterprise.”

About the Award
The Awards for Responsible Capitalism were initiated by FIRST in 2000 to honour business leaders who have excelled by achieving both commercial success and demonstrating social responsibility. Rupert Goodman, Chairman of FIRST said, “We at FIRST believe that commercial success can be assessed in terms of standard criteria, but that social responsibility involves a greater sense of the needs of the wider community as well as shareholders, a special interest in the well-being of groups in need, care for the areas in which the business operates, environmental initiatives, and
support for the arts and culture.”

The Judging Panel is chaired by the Rt Hon Lord Woolf of Barnes, former Lord Chief Justice and includes Chief Emeka Anyaoku GVCO TC CFR(former Commonwealth Secretary General), Marilyn Carlson Nelson (Chair and Chief Executive Officer of Carlson Companies), Rt Hon Lord Howe of Aberavon CH QC (former Chancellor of the Exchequer and Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs), Lord Plant
of Highfield (Professor of Political Philosophy), Hon Philip Lader (Chairman of WPP Group), Sir Robert Wilson KCMG (Chairman of BG Group), Dr Daniel Vasella (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Novartis), Sir Patrick Cormack FSA MP, Lord Marshall of Knightsbridge (Chairman of Pirelli), Morris Tabaksblat KBE (former Chairman of Reed
Elsevier), Ratan Tata (Chairman of Tata Group), Howard Schultz (Chairman of Starbucks) and Philippa Foster Back OBE (Director of the Institute of Business Ethics).

FIRST is a multidisciplinary International Affairs organisation. Founded by Rupert Goodman in 1984 it aims to enhance communications between leaders in industry, finance and government, worldwide and promote strategic dialogue. This is achieved via three key channels: publishing, events and awards. FIRST is a winner of a PPA Award for Publishing Excellence and received the Queen’s Award for Enterprise in 2010 in recognition of its growth in international markets.

Lord Hurd of Westwell, former Foreign Secretary, is Chairman of the FIRST Advisory Council.

For more information please contact:

Rupert Goodman, Chairman of FIRST
Tel: 020 7389 9640
Fax: 020 7389 9644
Mob: 07899 900156